Participatory Media and the Problems faced by Participating in them.

developer

Here I am, on another afternoon staring at my monitor as I type up this post. Of course, that’s admittedly not the only thing I’m doing while typing away at this. I’m chatting it up with friends on Facebook, watching a movie for a class on Dailymotion, discussing the newest video games on message boards, and looking up prices for some DVDs on Amazon.

Why am I wasting perfectly good time that I could be spending on finishing this post up on menial tasks that I could be doing later tonight? Maybe it’s my poor scheduling skills, but let us forget about that for a moment. Between my classes and work I have fairly little time outside of clubs to actually do anything that I’d do on my own, which usually leads me to doing two or more things at a time. The reason why I’m bringing this up is because I was reminded of myself when reading Deuze’s thoughts of the mesh between work and family in the workplace.

Deuze brings up many points in the first chapter of Media Work about the flaws of the Nine-to-Five workday and how it relates to not only the blue-collar and white-collar working class, but the creative workers as well. Workers now compete for jobs against one another instead of the companies searching and finding the ideal laborer for the position. Just the process alone of getting one of these jobs sounds appealing to no one, but we all do it in the long run. With the advancement of the internet in the information age, having just an up-front personality was no longer viable. To get a proper job in this day and age you’ll need at least a clean Facebook profile and a few connections to others from a site like LinkedIn.

What about 90% of my papers end up looking like when they’re done

One aspect that appeals to many of the Media Industries is the fact that the hours are fairly flexible. While this may seem to be a boon in comparison to working 9-to-5, it is also a problem in itself. While you initially seem to be free to work whenever you choose (Based on what your employer will allow you to do, at least), an “increased variability in working hours contributes to the blurring of the boundaries between work and private life.” (4) I know I’d love to choose my own hours, but after reading up on what it would entail makes me quite skeptical.

I would say I have a fairly good grasp of life within the digital age. I have two computers in my room that I alternate in using depending on the job and the processing power required for it. I have an account on most major social networks (I don’t see the appeal to Vine, honestly), and I’ve watched shows a few hours after they aired overseas. While I’m fine with being interconnected with people across the globe while playing games or watching a livestream, I’m not exactly sure how I’d feel about the social network interacting with my personal network.strategy

As the near-end of my academic career draws closer by the minute, I’m going to have to buckle down and block out when I do have enough time to spare after my work is done at the end of the day. I realize now that I’ll most likely start out at either some low-level job fetching supplies for my other co-workers or working on my own time doing commissions for others while I’m attending graduate school, but I feel that if I get the low-level blue collar work out of the way now, I will be able to go ahead and aim for the ideal job in the creative industries that I’d prefer to have in the long run.

Leave a Reply

