The Creatives Struggle To Balance Time: How Do You Do it? (I Don’t Know)

In his book War on Art by Steven Pressfield, he discusses our resistance to work through multiple lenses one of which is the constant checking of our cell phones.  This book is a must read for anyone in the creative field, especially writers.  In Richard Florida’s The Rise of the Creative Class he has a whole section discussing what he calls our ‘time famine.’  He says, “Americans suffer from ‘time famine.’ Time has become the most precious commodity and the ultimate scarcity for millions of Americans.”  (126).  I’m sure everyone can relate to the feeling of not having enough time in a day, especially as college students we’re tackling multiple things at once constantly.

demotivation.us_School-You-can-choose-just-two-ot-themIt brings up the whole idea of balance and how do you handle all these different tasks at once, especially in the creative field with such little structure a lot of the time.  For example I’m still trying to handle the task of balancing my freelance work with school and job applications and other long term projects.  This overwhelming feeling creates this complex balance between social life and work.  I know personally I never find there to be enough hours in a day.  Even when I wake up early there’s too much to do constantly, which creates this never ending feeling of work.

It raises the question of overcomplicating our situation.  It’s so easy to get caught up in distractions especially on a college campus.  Distraction is everywhere and not just for college students.  On trains people constantly are on their phone to pass the time by and I think there’s some sort of connection between this and our fast paced mentality.  Most work gets done through utilizing technology and I know from personal experience how easy it is to get lost in the depths of the internet.  Technology also follows us everywhere, or we follow it if you want to take it to a deeper concept.  But regardless it’s always there, which can be a good thing, we have the power to interact with people all over the world and achieve incredible things by utilizing the tool.  But it goes back to the whole idea of balance, does this extra technology create resistance or distraction?  Does it tie in to our always feeling rushed mentality?  Do we waste too much time on dumb shit?

earthinmilkywayIn the grand scheme of things our time on this planet is very minimal.  The earth is 4.5 billion years old and we’re here for 100 of them if we’re lucky.  There’s only so much that we can accomplish as individuals and it’s really a humbling way to perceive our reality.  I’m not entirely sure where I’m going with this, and I’ve been sort of circling around the whole idea of time throughout this post, but hopefully my train of thought has given some sort of insight.  Essentially the only thing that is constant in our lives is time.  It’s one of the things I think we take for granted a lot.  Even college as an example, it flew by for me and here I am sitting in my second to last semester as a college student.  It makes me think about what I’ve accomplished through these chaotic times, and it makes me really question how much I resisted and how much time I’ve wasted on unproductive things.

Final Thought – Everyone has a ton of stuff going on, no one cares how busy you are, get it done.  You have the same amount of hours in a day as Oprah.

 

Leave a Reply

